In 2012, we celebrated our 175th anniversary.
Gananoque’s Presbyterians started organized worship services in 1837 in small frame buildings located in the western part of the town and latterly at the corner of Stone & Pine streets. As the congregation grew and the need for a larger building became more urgent, the Honourable John McDonald, an ardent Presbyterian, donated land at the corner of Sydenham & Stone Streets for the building of a new church. Construction of a contemporary-styled sandstone building was commenced in 1851. Four years later in 1855 St. Andrew’s Presbyterian Church opened its doors and the splendid Rose Window (a gift from the Clark Thread Co. of Scotland) was on view. In 1871 the church hall was added along with an interior gallery and choir loft. Approval to add an organ to the sanctuary was given in 1874. In 1887 the northern and southern wings and a chancel were completed. Electricity was installed in 1892. More than a dozen stained glass windows have been donated over the years.
Today we are striving to maintain, update and make our heritage building more accessible for all people. Our building plays an important role in the community. We have made meeting space available for the local Alcoholics Anonymous chapter for over 30 years. We provide space in our building for the Gananoque Co-operative Nursery School. Music and drama groups use our facilities which are also used for yoga classes and by a local Brownie unit. We are proud of our rich heritage and give thanks to God for the faithful people of our church family – both past and present – who have given generously of their experience and love in the service of our Lord. Together we seek to faithfully serve God in meaningful ways for the people of the 21st century.
Below is a photo of our congregation as we worshiped in the style and attire of 1812.